Home   >   Movie Dictionary   >   Emmy Awards

Emmy Awards

The Emmy Awards are US television production awards, similar to the Peabody Awards but more focused on entertainment. There are two types of Emmy Awards, the Daytime Awards and the Primetime Awards. The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences administers the Daytime Awards, the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is responsible for the Primetime Awards. The first Emmy Awards were presented on January 25, 1949 at the Hollywood Athletic Club.

Emmys are awarded in the following categories:

  • Animation
  • Art Direction
  • Casting
  • Choreography
  • Cinematography
  • Commercials
  • Costuming / Costume Design
  • Directing
  • Electronic Camerawork
  • Engineering Development
  • Hairstyling
  • Lighting Direction
  • Main Title Design
  • Makeup
  • Music
  • Non-Fiction
  • Performing
  • Picture Editing
  • Program Categories
  • Sound Mixing
  • Sound Editing
  • Special Visual Effects
  • Technical Direction
  • Video
  • Voice-Over Performance
  • Writing
For more info visit: www.emmys.org/awards/index.php (primetime) or www.emmyonline.org.
More Filmbug  favorites:  Indiana Jones | Movie History | Blu-Ray | Movie Aspect Ratios | Film Noir | Movie Crew