Home   >   Movie Dictionary   >   Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS)

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is a professional honorary organization, founded on May 11, 1927 in the US state California to advance the arts and sciences of motion pictures.

The Academy is known around the world almost exclusively for its yearly Academy Awards for films, which in turn are more popularly know as the "Oscars".

The current president of the Academy is Frank R. Pierson.

Original 36 Founders of the Academy are:
Actors: Richard Barthelmess, Jack Holt, Conrad Nagel, Milton Sills, Douglas Fairbanks, Harold Lloyd.
Directors: Cecil B. DeMille, Frank Lloyd, Henry King, Fred Niblo, John M. Stahl, Raoul Walsh
Writers: Joseph Farnham, Benjamin F. Glazer, Jeanie MacPherson, Bess Meredyth, Carey Wilson, Frank Woods
Technicians: J. Arthur Ball, Cedric Gibbons, Roy J. Pomeroy
Producers: Fred Beetson, Charles H. Christie, Sid Grauman, Milton E. Hoffman, Jesse L. Lasky, M. C. Levee, Louis B. Mayer, Joseph M. Schenck, Irving Thalberg, Harry Warner, Jack Warner, Mary Pickford, Harry Rapf
Lawyers: Edwin Loeb, George W. Cohen

More Filmbug  favorites:  Indiana Jones | Movie History | Blu-Ray | Movie Aspect Ratios | Film Noir | Movie Crew