Home   >   Movie Stars   >   R   >   Charlotte Rampling
Charlotte Rampling photo
Charlotte Rampling

Charlotte Rampling

Charlotte Rampling is beginning the fifth decade of a varied and rewarding motion picture career.

She first worked with François Ozon when she starred in his acclaimed film Under the Sand, for which she received César [France's equivalent of the Oscar] and European Film Academy Award nominations.

Born in England, Ms. Rampling made her film debut in Richard Lester's The Knack, and How to Get It (1965). She soon attracted international attention, opposite Lynn Redgrave, in Silvio Narizzano's Georgy Girl.

Working by turns in France, England, and America, she went on to star in such films as Luchino Visconti's The Damned and Liliana Cavani's The Night Porter (opposite Dirk Bogarde in both features), Roy Baker's Asylum, John Boorman's Zardoz (opposite Sean Connery), Patrice Chéreau's The Flesh of the Orchid, Dick Richards' Farewell, My Lovely, Woody Allen's Stardust Memories, Sidney Lumet's The Verdict (opposite Paul Newman), Claude Lelouch's Viva la vie!, Jacques Deray's On ne meurt que deux fois (for which she received a César Award nomination), Nagisa Oshima's Max, mon amour, Alan Parker's Angel Heart, David Hare's Paris by Night, Rocky Morton and Annabel Jankel's D.O.A. (1988), Iain Softley's The Wings of the Dove, Michael Cacoyannis' The Cherry Orchard, Jonathan Nossiter's Signs and Wonders and Hans Petter Moland's Aberdeen (opposite Stellan Skarsgård in both features), and Michel Blanc's Embrassez qui vous voudrez [a.k.a. See How They Run].

Ms. Rampling will next be seen onscreen starring with Clive Owen in Mike Hodges' I'll Sleep When I'm Dead. She is currently filming Norman Jewison's The Statement, joining a cast that includes Michael Caine, Alan Bates, Jeremy Northam, and Tilda Swinton.

Her telefilm work has also covered several countries, having begun with John Irvin's The Strangers and continued through, most recently, the My Uncle Silas miniseries (opposite Albert Finney and directed by Philip Saville and, later, Tom Clegg).

Ms. Rampling was given an honorary César Award in 2001. In 2002, she was honored by the London Film Critics Circle with the Dilys Powell Award for Outstanding Contribution to Cinema. She is also the recipient of an O.B.E. (Order of the British Empire) as well as France's Legion d'honneur (Medal of Honor).

Note: This profile was written in or before 2003.

Charlotte Rampling Facts

BirthdayFebruary 5, 1945 (78)
BirthplaceSturmer, England, United Kingdom
Height5' 7" (1m70)  How tall is Charlotte Rampling compared to you?

Selected Filmography

Babylon AD
Basic Instinct 2
Augustus Part I
Street Dance
The Duchess
Augustus Part II
45 Years
Never Let Me Go
Continue » Find more details on the Charlotte Rampling Movies page