Home   >   Movie Stars   >   J   >   Laura Jones
Laura Jones
  • Biography

Laura Jones

Laura Jones received the Byron Kennedy Award in 1996 from the Australian Film Institute. The award is given for excellence in, and contribution to, Australian cinema.

Her first screenplays were for the Australian telefilms Cold Comfort (directed by Chris Thompson) and "Every Man for Herself' (directed by Michael Carson), both of which were honored with Australian Writers Guild Awards for Best Original Telemovie. Shortly thereafter, her original screenplay High Tide was made into a feature film, with Gillian Armstrong directing and Judy Davis starring. The script earned Jones the New South Wales Premier Prize for Screenwriting.

Jones' next screenplay was an adaptation of Janet Frame's autobiographies. Directed by Jane Campion, An Angel at My Table was honored with awards worldwide, with Jones receiving the Best Screenplay prize at the New Zealand Film Awards, as well as her second New South Wales Premier Prize for Screenwriting.

Her later film credits as screenwriter include The Portrait of a Lady (adapted from Henry James' novel of the same name, and directed by Jane Campion); The Well (adapted from Elizabeth Jolley's novel of the same name and directed by Samantha Lang), for which Jones earned Australian Film Institute and Australian Film Critics Circle Awards for Best Adapted Screenplay; Oscar and Lucinda (adapted from Peter Carey's novel of the same name and directed by Gillian Armstrong); and Angela's Ashes (adapted from Frank McCourt's memoir of the same name, and cowritten and directed by Alan Parker).

Note: This profile was written in or before 2006.

Laura Jones Facts


Selected Filmography

Not available.