Home   >   Movie Stars   >   E   >   Edith Evans

Edith Evans

Dame Edith Mary Evans was a British actress. Born in London, she began a film career in 1915, but was noted mostly for her stage work until she appeared in the 1949 film The Last Days of Dolwyn. From then until 1977, she made several acclaimed films, including The Importance of Being Earnest, The Whisperers (for which she was nominated for the Academy Award for Best Actress), Tom Jones (nominated for Best Supporting Actress), The Slipper and the Rose, The Nun's Story, The Chalk Garden (nominated for Best Supporting Actress), The Madwoman of Chaillot, Crooks and Coronets and Nasty Habits.

Evans was knighted as a Dame Commander of the British Empire (DBE) in 1946.

Note: This profile was written in or before 2004.

Edith Evans Facts

Birth NameDame Edith Evans
BirthdayFebruary 8, 1888
BirthplaceLondon, England, United Kingdom
Date of deathOctober 14, 1976 (age 88)
Awards1968 Golden Globe Awards: Best Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama (for The Whisperers)

Selected Filmography

The Kid
No Way Out
Her First Romance
Born on the Fourth of July
The Nun's Story
Slipper and the Rose
The Chalk Garden
Continue » Find more details on the Edith Evans Movies page