Home   >   Movie Stars   >   S   >   Barbara Stanwyck

Barbara Stanwyck

Barbara Stanwyck (January 20, 1907 - January 20, 1990) was an American actress. Born Ruby Katherine Stevens. She took her name from the name of a play, Barbara Frietchie, about a fictional Civil War heroine. The play starred a British actress named Joan Stanwyck.

Stanwyck starred in almost a hundred films during her career and received four nominations for the Academy Award for Best Actress: Stella Dallas (1937), Ball of Fire (1941), Double Indemnity (1944), and Sorry, Wrong Number (1948). She received an Honorary Award "for superlative creativity and unique contribution to the art of screen acting in 1982". In her later years, she also starred in television.

Note: This profile was written in or before 2003.

Barbara Stanwyck Facts

Birth NameRuby Stevens
BirthdayJuly 16, 1907
BirthplaceBrooklyn, New York, USA
Date of deathJanuary 20, 1990 (age 82)
Height5' 5" (1m65)  How tall is Barbara Stanwyck compared to you?
Awards1986 Golden Globe Awards: Cecil B. DeMille Award
1984 Golden Globe Awards: Best Actress in a Supporting Role in a Series, Mini-Series or TV Film (for The Thorn Birds)
1982 Academy Awards: Honorary Award
1967 Screen Actors Guild Awards: Life Achievement Award

Selected Filmography

Double Indemnity
Film Noir 10-Movie Spotlight Collection
Big Valley
The Big Valley: Season 3
Sorry, Wrong Number
TCM Greatest Classic Films Collection: Holiday
Fabulous Forties
The Big Valley: Season 2
Continue » Find more details on the Barbara Stanwyck Movies page